Pearls and Swine

Pig

“My love has so possessed me that no place remains for hating even Satan.”
– Rabia Basri

You wonder why I am against
capital punishment.
You wonder why I am against
violent retribution.
You wonder why I am against
eating animals.

You would no longer wonder
what I am against
if you sat with me and looked
fearlessly in the direction
of what I am for:

Unconditional love for every
sentient being,
no matter what they’ve done
or to whom they’ve done it.

You will go on misunderstanding me
if you remain confused
about ultimate love.
Until you figure it out,
on your own and for yourself,
I refuse to spend energy explaining
a sunset to the blind.

© William Banks and “Zen Broom” 2014. All content of this blog and website, unless specifically noted otherwise, is protected under U.S. copyright. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material in whole or part without express written permission from this blog’s owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to William Banks as author and “Zen Broom” as source with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a comment